Skip links

What Is a Business Day?

A Message from Jeff Davis – OREF Forms Counsel

Brokers occasionally ask whether a specific day that is celebrated in some way counts as a “business day” for the purposes of the time periods and deadlines in the OREF Real Estate Sale Agreements. Both the Sale Agreements and ORS 696 define business days as days other than Saturday, Sunday, Federal legal holidays, and Oregon legal holidays. Therefore the following listed holidays do not count as a business day.

If a holiday falls on a Sunday the following Monday is observed as the legal holiday. If it falls on a Saturday, the preceding Friday the observed legal holiday.

Please note, this list can change at any moment due to ORS 187.020 which states:

Additional legal holidays. in addition to those specified in ORS 187.010, the following days are legal holidays in this state:

(1) Every day appointed by the Governor as a holiday.

(2) Every day appointed by the President of the United States as a day of mourning, rejoicing or other special observance only when the Governor also appoints that day as a holiday.

2022 HOLIDAYS

  • Friday, December 31, 2021 – New Years Day Observed
  • Monday, January 17 – Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
  • Monday, February 21 – Presidents Day
  • Monday, May 30 – Memorial Day
  • Monday, June 20 – Juneteenth Observed
  • Monday, July 4 – Independence Day
  • Monday, September 5 – Labor Day
  • Monday, October 10 – Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples’ Day
  • Friday, November 11 – Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 24 – Thanksgiving Day
  • Monday, December 26 – Christmas Day Observed

2023 HOLIDAYS

  • Monday, January 2 – New Year’s Day Observed
  • Monday, January 16 – Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
  • Monday, February 20 – Presidents Day
  • Monday, May 29 – Memorial Day
  • Monday, June 19 – Juneteenth
  • Tuesday, July 4 – Independence Day
  • Monday, September 4 – Labor Day
  • Monday, October 9 – Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples’ Day
  • Friday, November 10 – Veterans Day Observed
  • Thursday, November 23 – Thanksgiving Day
  • Monday, December 25 – Christmas Day